Selected Transitions compiled from the print version of DesignIntelligence, April 2004.

Five HOK leaders have been elected to the firm’s Board of Directors for a one-year term. They join 19 other directors who have been re-elected for an additional one-year term. Newly elected are: Susan Grossinger, Director of Interiors, HOK Los Angeles; Gary Kuzma, Director of MEP Engineering, HOK Houston; Larry Malcic, Director of Design, HOK London; Yann Weymouth, Director of Design, HOK Florida; and Paul Woolford, Director of Design, HOK Atlanta

OWP/P has been awarded the highest honor in the Urban Master Planning category in this year’s MIPIM/Architectural Review Future Project Award program. Lead designer Bjorn Hallson was honored for the Life Sciences Campus of the Salt River Pima Maricopa Indian Community, soon to be developed. The concept reflects Native America beliefs that decisions must consider impact on the next seven generations. A native of Iceland, Hallson joined OWP/P in 1991, and became Director of Architectural Design in 1997. He also serves on the board of directors and Leadership Team.

Joan McEntee, chairman of law firm Baker Donelson Bearman Caldwell & Berkowitz, has been named to the International Advisory Board of Parsons Brinckerhoff. She has previously served eight years in the U.S. Department of Commerce, including service as deputy and acting undersecretary for International Trade. A member of the George H. Bush administration, McEntee was deputy to the chief of staff during his service as vice-president.

Now at the end of a five-year transition stage, Dirk Lohan has resigned from Lohan Caprile Goettsch Architects. The 70-member firm traces its start to Mies van der Rohe’s offices, founded in 1940. Joseph Caprile and James Goettsch have served as co-presidents since 2002 and will continue to lead the firm in projects such as the recent $600 million redevelopment of Chicago’s Soldier Field.

Although he will remain The New Yorker’s architecture critic, Paul Goldberger has accepted the deanship of Parsons School of Design at New School University, effective July 1.

Lucinda Ludwig, a Design Futures Council Board Member, passed away March 31 following a seven-month battle with cancer. She was 46. An architect licensed in all 50 states, she was also a beloved friend, mother and wife. Ludwig was vice president and corporate director of business development at Leo A Daly. She graduated from Washington University (summa cum laude), the Yale University Graduate School of Architecture and received Harvard’s Graduate School of Business Certificate for Leadership and Professional Service Firms.

In 2002 Ludwig was named an AIA fellow; she had served on the steering committee of the AIA’s practice management PIA.

Sasaki Associates has announced two new principals: Pablo Buteler-Savid and Tim M. Stevens. Buteler-Savid is in the firm’s Boston office; Stevens is based in San Francisco.

The first recipient of Zimmer Gunsul Frasca Partnership’s new annual scholarship has been selected. David Hamilton, a master of architecture student at the University of Virginia, claimed the $5,000 scholarship. The stipend is awarded to a student in second-year or later studies, and was created to honor founder Norm Zimmer. Candidates must be recommended by their school’s dean. Second and third place students will be offered summer internships at the firm.

Parsons E&C and Parsons Brinckerhoff Ltd. have been awarded a U.S. Department of Defense contract to rebuild Iraq’s electric system.The $43 million contract calls for restoration of existing power plants and preparation for future demand.

EDSA’s Bill Renner will be a presenter at the APA’s national conference this month on the thorny topic of “Sustainability in Resort Communities.” The presentation will include examples of such work in diverse settings including China’s Hainan Island; Barbados; Las Vegas; and Virginia’s eastern shore.

The stockholders of Walter P. Moore have elected the following to the Board of Directors for 2004 -2005: Edwin C. Friedrichs, Lawrence G. Griffis, James G. Jacobi, David A. Landis, Jerry S. Marcus, Raymond F. Messer, Mashari A. Nassar, Lee W. Slade, and Richard J.A. Temple.