The success of the September Architects’ Environment Summit last month on Nantucket Island has spun off plans for more such meetings across the country.

The success of the September Architects’ Environment Summit last month on Nantucket Island has spun off plans for more such meetings across the country.
Although malingering storms from Hurricane Isadore made weather somewhat dicey on arrival day, even the mercurial fall beach weather cooperated, allowing for indoor and outdoor plans to proceed as scheduled.

Thoughtful presentations and informed round-table discussions were viewed as solid, forward-looking information from those who’ve led the field during its comparatively short history.

The breadth of experience among the delegates–including representatives from the best architectural schools in higher education; leading architects and urban planners; writers and journalists—contributed to a sense that valuable, realistic solutions were being exchanged, and carried home for use in the delegates’ professional lives. At the end of the three-day summit, a draft on best sustainable practices (divided into two sections; one for architects, and another for clients) was written, and currently being finalized for an upcoming “Focus on the Future” to be made available to the delegates and DI subscribers.


Michael Alin, ASID
Curtis Allen, CMD Group
Ray Anderson, Interface
Rodrigo Arboleda, MIT
Phil Bernstein, Autodesk
Penny Bonda, Environdesign Conference, IS Magazine, ASID
Hong Chen, The Steinberg Group
Austin Childs, Austin B. Childs Architecture
Jim Cramer, The Greenway Group, Inc.
Benjamin Crawford, Pickard, Chilton, Architects
Sean Culman, Solutions
William J. de St. Aubin, Sizemore Group
Rick delMonte, The Beck Group
Doug Disbrow, Fletcher-Thompson
Trudy Dujardin, Dujardin Design Associates
Ellen Dunham-Jones, Georgia Institute of Technology
Phil Enquist, Skidmore Owings & Merrill
James Fair, AHSC Architects
Richard Farson, Western Behavioral Sciences Institute
Heidi Fichtenbaum, Ford Farewell Mills & Gatsch
Steve Fiskum, HGA
Jim Follett, Gensler
Jeremiah Ford, Ford Farewell Mills & Gatsch
Harrison Fraker, University of California Berkley
Neil Frankel, Frankel + Coleman
Roger Frechette, Vanderweil Engineers
Bruno Freschi, Cannon Design
Doug Gehley, Enihorn Yaffee Prescott
Roger Godwin, Gensler
Robert Grupe, US Gypsum
Jim Hartzfeld, Interface
Holly Henderson, Thompson, Ventulett, Stainback and Associates
Jay Jacoby, Elkus/Manfredi Architects
Terry L. Johnson, Counsel House Research
Ralph Johnson, Perkins & Will
Michael Keeler, Ecological Solutions
Doug Kelbaugh, Taubman College of Architecture
Chris Kellogg, John James Architects
Stephan Knust, Goody, Clancy & Associates
Rod Kruse, Herbert Lewis Kruse Blunck Architecture
Jim Lentowski, Nantucket Conservation Foundation
Peter Lindabury, RobsonWoese, Inc.
Jo Luck, Heifer International
Mick McConnell, Dujardin Design Associates
Stephen A. McDowell, Berkebile Nelson Immenschuh McDowell Architects (BNIM)
Sandra Mendler, HOK
Thomas Meyer, Meyer Scherer & Rockcastle, Ltd.
Doug Moss, Hardy Holzman Pfeiffer Associates
John Pagini, Nantucket Regional Planning
Nicholas Peckham, Peckham & Wright Architects
Lyman S. A. Perry, Lyman S.A. Perry Architects
Frank E. Peteroy, Frank E. Peteroy, RA & AIA
Randle Pollock, Walter P. Moore & Associates
Steven Santucci, Perkins & Will n Vikas Shrestna, The Steinberg Group
Scott Simpson, Stubbins Associates
N. Scott Smith, Sasaki Associates
Deborah Snoonian, Architectural Record
Charlie Spahr, CMD Group
Joe Stanley, Polk Stanley Yeary Architects
Cecil Steward, Joslyn Institute
Ambassador Richard Swett, Architect and Former U.S. Ambassador to Denmark n April Thornton, Armstrong Industries
Alan Traugott, Flack + Kurtz
Ken Wilson, Envision Design
Arol Wolford, ROI, Inc.