Architecture Critics

Architecture Critics

Below is a listing of major publications that regularly feature architectural writing and criticism. Some publications have a staff architecture critic while others an art critic or critic-at-large who routinely covers architecture stories.

Arizona Republic
Michael Dodds
Historic Preservation Officer
200 East Van Buren Street
Phoenix, AZ 85004
(602) 444-8000
www.azcentral.com

Atlanta Journal-Constitution
Chris Quinn
Features Assignment Editor
cquinn@ajc.com
223 Perimeter Center Parkway
Atlanta, GA 30346
(404) 526-2160
www.ajc.com

Austin American-Statesman
Jeanne Claire van Ryzin
Arts Critic
jvanryzin@statesman.com
P.O. Box 670
Austin, Texas 78767
(512) 445-3699
www.statesman.com
www.austin360.com

Boston Globe
Robert Campbell
Architecture Critic
Rebecca Ostriker
Arts Editor
ostriker@globe.com
135 Morrissey Boulevard
Boston, MA 02125
(617) 929-2800
www.boston.com

Boston Herald
Sandra Kent
Arts and Lifestyle Editor
Sandra.kent@bostonherald.com
One Herald Square
Boston, MA 02118
(617) 426-3000
www.bostonherald.com

Charleston Post and Courier
Robert Behre
rbehre@postandcourier.com
Architecture Critic
134 Columbus Street
Charleston, SC 29403
(843) 577-7111
www.postandcourier.com

Charlotte Observer
Allen Norwood
Home Columnist
homeinfo@embarqmail.com
600 South Tryon Street
Charlotte, NC 28202
(704) 358-5000
www.charlotteobserver.com

Chicago Sun-Times
Fran Spielman
fspielman@suntimes.com
350 North Orleans Street
Chicago, IL 60654
(312) 321-3000
www.suntimes.com

Chicago Tribune
Blair Kamin
Architecture Critic
bkamin@tribune.com
435 North Michigan Avenue
Chicago, IL 60611
(312) 222-3232
www.chicagotribune.com

Cleveland Plain Dealer
Steven Litt
Art & Architecture Critic
Plain Dealer Plaza
1801 Superior Avenue
Cleveland, OH 44114
(216) 999-5000
www.plaindealer.com

Dallas Morning News
Mark Lamster
Architecture Critic
mlamster@dallasnews.com
508 Young Street
Dallas, TX 75202
(214) 977-8222
www.dallasnews.com

Denver Post
Ray Ranaldi
Fine Arts Critic
rranaldi@denverpost.com
101 West Colfax Avenue
Denver, CO 80202
(303) 954-1540
www.denverpost.com

Detroit Free Press
John Gallagher
Business and Architecture Writer
jgallagher@freepress.com
615 West Lafayette Boulevard
Detroit, MI 48226
(313) 222-6459
www.freep.com

Financial Times
Edwin Heathcote
Architecture Writer
1 Southwark Bridge
London SE1 9HL, UK
44 (0) 20 7873 3000
www.ft.com

Los Angeles Times
Christopher Hawthorne
Architecture Critic
christopher.hawthorne@latimes.com
202 West First Street
Los Angeles, CA 90012
(213) 237-5000
www.latimes.com

Louisville Courier-Journal
Elizabeth Kramer
Arts Reporter
ekramer@courier-journal.com.
P.O. Box 740031
Louisville, KY 40201
(502) 582-4215
www.courier-journal.com

Milwaukee Journal Sentinel
Mary Louise Schumacher
Art and Architecture Critic|
mschumacher@journalsentinel.com
P.O. Box 371
Milwaukee, WI 53201
(414) 224-2000
www.jsonline.com

New York Times
Michael Kimmelman
Architecture Critic
229 West 43rd Street
New York, NY 10036
(212) 556-1234
www.nytimes.com

Newark Star-Ledger
Dan Bischoff
Art Critic
dbischoff@starledger.com
1 Star-Ledger Plaza
Newark, NJ 07102
(973) 392-4040
www.nj.com/starledger

Newport News Daily Press
Mark St. John Erickson
Arts/Museum/History Reporter
merickson@dailypress.com
7505 Warwick Boulevard
Newport News, VA 23607
(757) 247-4600
www.dailypress.com

Philadelphia Inquirer
Inga Saffron
Architecture Critic
isaffron@phillynews.com
P.O. Box 8263
Philadelphia, PA 19101
(215) 854-2000
www.philly.com

Pittsburgh Post-Gazette
Marylynne Pitz
mpitz@post-gazette.com
34 Boulevard of the Allies
Pittsburgh, PA 15222
(412) 263-1100
www.post-gazette.com

Providence Journal
Bill Van Siclen
Art Critic
bvansicl@projo.com
75 Fountain Street
Providence, RI 02902
(401) 277-7000
www.providencejournal.com

The Record
John Zeaman
Art Critic
features@northjersey.com
North Jersey Media Group
1 Garret Mountain Plaza
Woodland Park, NJ 07424
(201) 646-4000
www.northjersey.com

San Antonio Express-News
Steve Bennett
Arts and Architecture Writer
sbennett@express-news.net
301 Avenue E
San Antonio, TX 78205
(210) 250-3000
www.mysanantonio.com

San Francisco Chronicle
John King
Urban Design Writer
jking@sfchronicle.com
901 Mission Street
San Francisco, CA 94103
(415) 777-1111
www.sfgate.com

Seattle Times
Rebecca Teagarden
Reporter, Pacific NW Magazine
bteagarden@seattletimes.com
P.O. Box 70
Seattle, WA 98111
(206) 748-5808
seattletimes.com

Wall Street Journal
Alastair Gordon
Contributing Editor for Architecture and Design
Robert Whelan
Reporter
Robert.whelan@wsj.com
1211 Avenue of the Americas
New York, NY, 10036
(212) 416-2000
www.wsj.com

Washington Post
Philip Kennicott
Art and Architecture Critic
1150 15th Street NW
Washington, DC 20071
(202) 334-6000
www.washingtonpost.com

Source: DesignIntelligence