UIA Gold Medal

Every three years at its World Congress, the International Union of Architects awards its Gold Medal to a living architect who has made outstanding achievements in the field of architecture. This honor recognizes the recipient’s lifetime of distinguished practice, contribution to the enrichment of mankind, and the promotion of the art of architecture. www.uia-architectes.org

Year Architect
1984 Hassan Fathy (Egypt)
1987 Reima Pietila (Finland)
1990 Charles Correa (India)
1993 Fumihiko Maki (Japan)
1996 Rafael Moneo (Spain)
1999 Ricardo Legorreta (Mexico)
2002 Renzo Piano (Italy)
2005 Tadao Ando (Japan)
2008 Teodoro González de León (Mexico)
2011 Alvaro Siza (Portugal)
2014 Ieoh Ming Pei

Source: International Union of Architects