Star Award

The International Interior Design Association’s Star Award celebrates individuals and organizations that have made extraordinary contributions to the interior design profession. As the Star Award is merit-based, it is not necessarily granted each year. Although non-members are eligible, the IIDA board of directors (the selection body) only accepts nominations from IIDA fellows, chapter presidents, and directors.

Year Architect
1985 Lester Dundes
1986 William Sullivan
1987 Orlando Diaz-Azcuy
1988 Paul Brayton
1989 Florence Knoll Bassett
1990 Beverly Russell
1991 Stanley Abercrombie
1992 M. Arthur Gensler Jr.
1993 Sivon C. Reznikoff
1994 Michael Kroelinger
1995 Douglas R. Parker
1997 Michael Wirtz
1998 Charles and Ray Eames
1999 Michael Brill
2000 Eva L. Maddox
2001 Andrée Putman (France)
2002 Karim Rashid
2003 Ray Anderson
2004 Kevin Kampschroer
2005 Target Corporation
2006 Fast Company
2007 Karen Stephenson
2008 Gordon Segal
2009 Hilda Longinotti
2010 Majora Carter
2011 The Center for Health Design
2012 Four Seasons Hotel Corporation
2013 Cooper-Sewitt, National Design Museum
2014 Yabu Pushelberg

Source: International Interior Designers Association