Pritzker Architecture Prize

In 1979, Jay and Cindy Pritzker established the Pritzker Architecture Prize to inspire greater creativity in the profession and to heighten public awareness about architecture. Today, it is revered as one of the field’s highest honors. The prize, which includes a $100,000 grant, is awarded each year to a living architect whose body of work represents a long-standing, significant contribution to the built environment.

Year Architect
1979 Philip Johnson
1980 Luis Barragán (Mexico)
1981 James Stirling (UK)
1982 Kevin Roche
1983 I.M. Pei
1984 Richard Meier
1985 Hans Hollein (Austria)
1986 Gottfried Boehm (Germany)
1987 Kenzo Tange (Japan)
1988 Gordon Bunshaft, Oscar Niemeyer (Brazil)
1989 Frank Gehry
1990 Aldo Rossi (Italy)
1991 Robert Venturi
1992 Alvaro Siza (Portugal)
1993 Fumihiko Maki (Japan)
1994 Christian de Portzamparc (France)
1995 Tadao Ando (Japan)
1996 Rafael Moneo (Spain)
1997 Sverre Fehn (Norway)
1998 Renzo Piano (Italy)
1999 Sir Norman Foster (UK)
2000 Rem Koolhaas (Netherlands)
2001 Jacques Herzog and Pierre de Meuron (Switzerland)
2002 Glenn Murcutt (Australia)
2003 Jørn Utzon (Denmark)
2004 Zaha Hadid (UK)
2005 Thom Mayne
2006 Paulo Mendes da Rocha (Brazil)
2007 Sir Richard Rogers (UK)
2008 Jean Nouvel (France)
2009 Peter Zumthor (Switzerland)
2010 Kazuyo Sejima (Japan), Ryue Nishizawa (Japan)
2011 Eduardo Souto de Moura (Portugal)
2012 Wang Shu (China)
2013 Toyo Ito (Japan)
2014 Shigeru Ban (Japan)

Source: The Pritzker Architecture Prize