Praemium Imperiale

The Praemium Imperiale is awarded by the Japan Art Association, Japan’s premier cultural institution, for lifetime achievement in the fields of painting, sculpture, music, architecture, and theater/film. The following individuals received this honor for architecture, which includes a commemorative medal and a 15,000,000 yen ($130,000) honorarium.

Year Architect
1989 I.M. Pei
1990 James Stirling (UK)
1991 Gae Aulenti (Italy)
1992 Frank Gehry
1993 Kenzo Tange (Japan)
1994 Charles Correa (India)
1995 Renzo Piano (Italy)
1996 Tadao Ando (Japan)
1997 Richard Meier
1998 Alvaro Siza (Portugal)
1999 Fumihiko Maki (Japan)
2000 Sir Richard Rogers (UK)
2001 Jean Nouvel (France)
2002 Sir Norman Foster (UK)
2003 Rem Koolhaas (Netherlands)
2004 Oscar Niemeyer (Brazil)
2005 Taniguchi Yoshio (Japan)
2006 Frei Otto (Germany)
2007 Jacques Herzog and Pierre de Meuron (Switzerland)
2008 Peter Zumthor (Switzerland)
2009 Zaha Hadid (UK)
2010 Toyo Ito (Japan)
2011 Ricardo Legorreta (Mexico)
2012 Henning Larsen (Denmark)
2013 David Chipperfield (UK)
2014 Steven Holl

Source: Japan Art Association