Architect Awards (People)

Design leaders are featured here. Induction as a fellow is an honor commonly bestowed upon the industry’s prominent leaders. Many awards granted to individual designers are also included.

  • AIA Gold Medal
    The Gold Medal is the American Institute of Architects’ highest award.
  • Arnold W. Brunner Prize
    The American Academy of Arts and Letters annually awards the Arnold W. Brunner Memorial Prize to architects of any nationality who have contributed to architecture as an art. The award consists of a $5,000 prize. The prize is named in honor of the notable New York architect and city planner, Arnold William Brunner, who died in 1925.
  • ASLA Medals
    The American Society of Landscape Architects awards its highest honor, the ASLA Medal, to individuals who have made a significant contribution to the field of landscape architecture in such areas as landscape design, planning, writing, and public service. The ASLA Design Medal recognizes landscape architects who have produced a body of exceptional design work at a sustained level for at least 10 years.
  • Praemium Imperiale
    The Praemium Imperiale is awarded by the Japan Art Association, Japan’s premier cultural institution, for lifetime achievement in the fields of painting, sculpture, music, architecture, and theater/film.
  • Pritzker Architecture Prize
    In 1979, Jay and Cindy Pritzker established the Pritzker Architecture Prize to inspire greater creativity in the profession and to heighten public awareness about architecture. Today, it is revered as one of the field’s highest honors.
  • RIBA Royal Gold Medal
    The Royal Institute of British Architects’ Royal Gold Medal was inaugurated by Queen Victoria in 1848. It is conferred annually on a distinguished architect, person, or firm “whose work has promoted, either directly or indirectly, the advancement of architecture.”
  • Star Award
    The International Interior Design Association’s Star Award celebrates individuals and organizations that have made extraordinary contributions to the interior design profession.
  • UIA Gold Medal
    Every three years at its World Congress, the International Union of Architects awards its Gold Medal to a living architect who has made outstanding achievements in the field of architecture. This honor recognizes the recipient’s lifetime of distinguished practice, contribution to the enrichment of mankind, and the promotion of the art of architecture.