Library Buildings Awards

The American Institute of Architects and American Library Association present the biennial Library Buildings Awards to encourage excellence in the design and planning of libraries. Architects licensed in the United States are eligible to enter any public or private library project from around the world, whether a renovation, addition, conversion, interior project, or new construction. The jury consists of three architects and three librarians with extensive library building experience.

2013 Winners

Anacostia Neighborhood Library
Washington, DC
The Freelon Group

Central Library Renovation
St. Louis, MO
Cannon Design

Hamilton Grange Teen Center, New York Public Library
New York, NY
Rice+Lipka Architects 

James B. Hunt Jr. Library
Raleigh, NC
Snøhetta and Pearce Brinkley Cease + Lee

Oak Forest Neighborhood Library
Houston, TX

South Mountain Community Library
Phoenix, AZ

2011 Winners

Arkansas Studies Institute
Little Rock, AR
Polk Stanley Wilcox

KAUST Library
Thuwal, Jeddah, Saudi Arabia

Mattapan Branch Library
Boston, MA
William Rawn Associates, Architects, Inc.

Harmon Library
Phoenix, AZ

William Oxley Thompson Memorial Library, Ohio State University
Columbus, OH
GUND Partnership

Source: American Library Association