2011 Winners

The annual International Design Excellence Awards (IDEA), produced by the Industrial Designers Society of America (IDSA) and sponsored by Fast Companyhonor outstanding industrial design projects worldwide. A jury of business and design executives select winners from categories ranging from commercial and industrial products to interactive product experiences and service design. Gold, silver, and bronze awards are granted. www.idsa.org

2011 Gold Winners

Commercial & Industrial

APX™ 7000XE P25 Portable Radio
Motorola Solutions Inc.

Crown WT 3000 Series Pallet Truck
Crown Equipment Corporation; Design Central

Wildfire Truck Concept
Morita Holdings Corporation

Communication Tools

HTC Droid Incredible
One & Co

Tom Tom Go Live 1000
Native Design Ltd. (UK), TomTom International B.V. (Netherlands)

Computer Equipment

Microsoft Arc Touch Mouse
Microsoft; One & Co

Design Strategy

Boeing 787 Dreamliner 
The Boeing Co.; TEAGUE


Jawbone JAMBOX

TDK Life on Record 2011 Audio Line
Ziba Design; TDK Life on Record


Science Storms
Evidence Design

Splash! How Good Water Works

Interactive Product Experiences

Windows Phone 7
Windows Phone Design Team

Medical & Scientific

Mindray V Series Patient Monitor
Continuum; Mindray

Stryker; CTI Industries

Packaging & Graphics

Packing for TATUNG Electric Cooker of the 50th Anniversary Limited Version
GIXIA Group (Taiwan)

PUMA Clever Little Bag

Personal Accessories

Bespoke Fairings
Scott Summit; Christopher Campbell


Air New Zealand Long-Haul Innovation Program
IDEO; Synovate; Optimal Usability; Colmar Brunton; Society (New Zealand)

Li-Ning – Rediscovering Sports in Modern China

Service Design

Bedsider for the National Campaign for Teen and Unplanned Pregnancy

Design Empowerment for the Underprivileged (Microcredit + Design)
Joon Oh!; Hyundai Card (South Korea)

Student Designs

Cadence Prosthetic and Pedal for Cyclists
Seth Astle, Art Center College of Design

Craig D. Stover and Karl C. Sluis, College of Creative Studies

Margaux Ruyant, DSK ISD International School of Design (India)

Tent Water Collector
Haimo Bao, Zelong Wang, Yunfei Zhao, Huan Liu, Kui Zhang, Feng Zeng, Yu Fu, Song Qiao and Kun Xu, School of Design, Dalian Nationalities University (China)

The Empowerment Plan
Veronika Scott, College for Creative Studies


Boeing 787 Dreamliner 
The Boeing Co.; TEAGUE

Source: Industrial Designers Society of America