Building Awards

Buildings are highlighted in this section. Awards to buildings include general awards and specific building award types, such as schools, libraries and industrial design. 

  • Best Tall Building Awards
    The Best Tall Building Awards recognize projects that have made extraordinary contributions to the advancement of tall buildings and the urban environment, including sustainability.
  • AIA Honor Awards
    The American Institute of Architects’ Honor Awards celebrate outstanding design in three areas: architecture, interior architecture, and regional and urban design.
  • Twenty-five Year Award
    The American Institute of Architects’ Twenty-five Year Award celebrates buildings that excel under the test of time. Eligible projects must have been completed within the past 25 to 35 years by a licensed US architect, though the buildings may be located worldwide.
  • Exhibition of School Architecture Awards
    The Exhibition of School Architecture Awards, sponsored by the American Association of School Administrators, American Institute of Architects, and Council of Educational Facility Planners International, showcase how well-designed schools facilitate student achievement.
  • Housing Awards
    The AIA’s Housing Awards recognize the importance of good housing as a necessity of life, a sanctuary for the human spirit, and a valuable national resource. Licensed AIA-member architects are eligible to enter US-built projects.
  • Library Buildings Awards
    The American Institute of Architects and American Library Association present the biennial Library Buildings Awards to encourage excellence in the design and planning of libraries.
  • National Healthcare Design Awards
    The National Healthcare Design Awards showcase the best of healthcare building design and health design-oriented research. Winning projects exhibit conceptual strength and solve aesthetic, civic, urban, and social concerns in addition to the requisite functional and sustainability concerns of a healthcare facility.
  • Religious Art & Architecture
    The annual Religious Art & Architecture Design Awards, co-sponsored by Faith & Form magazine and the Interfaith Forum on Religion, Art and Architecture (a professional interest area of the American Institute of Architects), reward the highest achievements in architecture, liturgical design, and art for religious spaces.
  • International Design Excellence Awards
    The annual International Design Excellence Awards (IDEA), produced by the Industrial Designers Society of America (IDSA) and sponsored by Fast Company, honor outstanding industrial design projects worldwide.